Anxiety in a COVID-19 World

Anxiety in a modern world and how to deal with it; read on.

A Grain of Salt | ElbyJames
5 min readMar 18, 2021
Photo by Ian on Unsplash

HAVE YOU EVER FELT NERVOUS, TENSE, OR FEARFUL? What about a feeling of restlessness. panic attacks, or a rapid heart rate? Fast breathing? Hyperventilation? I know how you feel because I’ve struggled with anxiety, and to a lesser extent with depression for most of my life. The solution though can be as simple as a change in lifestyle.

Trying to control your anxiety is hard to do in today’s society but I think I have the answer to “how to control your anxiety.” I wish I had the answer on how to control my anxiety when I realized I suffered from anxiety. How did I cope? I stayed busy. I worked two jobs, sometimes three jobs, I got emersed in hobbies, in general I just stayed busy. A busy mind is a mind too preoccupied to worry.

THE PROBLEM

RESEARCH SHOWS HAVING A CLOSE relative with anxiety problems may increase your chances of experiencing anxiety yourself, however, there’s not enough evidence to show whether this is the case or not. Everyone’s experience of anxiety is different, so it’s hard to know exactly what causes anxiety problems.

Although we may share common genes which makes us more vulnerable to developing anxiety, or because we learn particular ways of thinking and behaving from…

--

--

A Grain of Salt | ElbyJames

ElbyJames is an American disabled combat vet exiled in the UK & a free speech absolutist. He’s an occasional Top Writer