Five Ways Christmas in the 70s was Way Better than Today

Christmas is a little different for each generation; you can always hear a crazy uncle with a scotch in one hand and a cigar in the other talking about how, “Christmas when I was growing up was yada, yada, yada.” I swore when I was growing up that I would never be like that.

A Grain of Salt | ElbyJames
6 min readDec 15, 2023
The Sears Wish Book was a popular Christmas-themed catalog released annually by the American department store chain Sears in August or September. The catalog contained toys and other holiday-related merchandise. The first Sears Wish Book was a separate catalog from the annual Sears Christmas catalog. Photo by wishbookweb.com

Well, I guess I’m bad at keeping promises because I’m going to compare my Christmases growing up in the 70s to today’s Christmases.

I was a child of the 70s and anyone who has grown up in the 70s, or anyone who just loves that era, knows it was unique in just about everything: music, clothing, speech, style, and even with protests. The 70s definitely had an impact on the rest of the 20th century.

Remember though, this was the 70s, a time before the digital age. This was a time before the internet and smartphones and iPads and most importantly a time before social media but it was the tip of the video game console industry. The video game console industry was just a glimpse of what was to come in the not-so-near future.

I thought I would take this opportunity to compile a list of how Christmases in the 70s were different…

--

--

A Grain of Salt | ElbyJames

ElbyJames is an American disabled combat vet exiled in the UK & a free speech absolutist. He’s an occasional Top Writer